On Wednesday the 12th of October, all the members of the team as well as the translation team attended a press conference aimed at “Young reporters at the UN”. It consisted of advice and explanations given by professional journalists to help us young journalists participate in press conferences: some tips for writing an article, what sort of questions we could ask, amongst other useful things. This information will help us during the two subsequent press conferences we will attend this year. Three journalists spoke. First, we listened to Gunilla von Hall, the Genevan correspondent for a Swedish newspaper. Gunilla is often on the move, she writes about all conflicts involving the UN and she is currently in the field, in the heart of the action. Notably, she has been to Iraq, Columbia, Rwanda, Iran and Greece. She covers mostly terrorism, refugees and war. For her, a good journalist must always maintain a certain distance from what they witness, and must not be too personally involved.

Next, Laurent Sierro, UN correspondent for Swiss Telegraphic Agency took over. The purpose of a press agency is to publish raw information as fast as possible so different media can then publish it. But with the rise of the internet, every second counts and they have to be as quick as possible when releasing news. Verifying the accuracy of swiftly changing information has become a priority for them. For our press conferences, Laurent recommends we remain critical, and to check all information provided.

Finally, El Hadji Gorgui Wade Ndoye spoke. He created his own newspaper in Africa, called “Continent Premier”: he is at the same time journalist, editor-in-chief and the head of publishing. According to him, his mission is to show the world a different side of Africa, not the one we all know with AIDS, famine, etc. He wants the world to understand that Africa is not a country, but a continent made up of a multitude of culturally rich societies (54 countries). For him, a journalist must be free to write what they think, they must “be as objective as possible in expressing their subjectivity”.

Finally, we were able to ask questions to these journalists, who have all marked us a great deal. It emerged that a good journalist must always check their sources and that they must search within the superficial to find what is essential. The next press conference will focus on “Sport for Development and Social Cohesion”: it is time for us to read up on the subject to be able to ask relevant questions!

Lucile Brunel

Translation: James Cradden

capture-decran-2016-11-28-a-08-12-10

Ce mercredi 12 octobre, tous les membres de la presse ainsi que les traducteurs ont assisté à une conférence de presse à l’ONU, destinée aux « Jeunes reporters à l’ONU ». Il s’agissait en fait d’une conférence d’explication et de conseils donnés par des journalistes professionnels pour aider les jeunes journalistes que nous sommes à participer à une conférence de presse : quelques astuces pour écrire un article, le type de questions que nous pouvons poser et autres. Ces petites astuces vont nous aider lors des deux conférences de presse auxquelles nous allons participer cette année. Trois journalistes sont intervenus. Nous avons tout d’abord écouté Gunilla von Hall, la correspondante à Genève d’un journal suédois. Gunilla est souvent en déplacement, elle traite tous les conflits dans lesquels l’ONU est engagée et est continuellement sur le terrain, au cœur de l’action. Elle est notamment allée en Irak, en Colombie, au Rwanda, en Iran et en Grèce. Elle couvre surtout les sujets du terrorisme, des réfugiés et de la guerre. Pour elle, un bon journaliste doit toujours garder de la distance avec ce qu’il voit et ne doit pas trop s’impliquer personnellement.

Puis Laurent Sierro, correspondant à l’ONU pour l’Agence télégraphique suisse, est intervenu. Le principe d’une agence de presse est de publier l’information brute afin que les différents médias la publient. Mais il faut aujourd’hui être le plus rapide possible dans la diffusion de l’information à cause d’internet : chaque minute compte et l’information change souvent, il est donc nécessaire d’être très vigilant sur la véracité de la publication. Pour nos conférences de presse, Laurent nous conseille d’être coriace, critique, et de vérifier tout ce qu’on nous dit.

Enfin, El Hadji Gorgui Wade Ndoye a parlé. Il a créé son propre journal en Afrique, appelé « Continent Premier » : il en est en même temps le journaliste, le rédacteur en chef et le chef de publication. Selon lui, sa mission est de montrer au monde un visage de l’Afrique différent de celui qu’on connait, avec le Sida, la famine, etc. Il veut que le monde comprenne que l’Afrique n’est pas un pays, mais un continent composé de plusieurs sociétés différentes (54 pays), culturellement riches. Pour lui, un journaliste doit être libre d’écrire ce qu’il pense, il doit « être le plus objectif possible dans l’expression de sa subjectivité ».

Enfin nous avons pu échanger et poser des questions à ces journalistes, qui nous ont tous beaucoup marqués. Il en est ressorti qu’un bon journaliste doit toujours vérifier ses sources et qu’il doit fouiller le superficiel pour trouver ce qu’il y a d’essentiel. La prochaine conférence de presse portera sur  « Le sport au service du développement et de la cohésion sociale » : il est temps de nous informer et de lire sur ce sujet pour poser des questions pertinentes!

Lucile Brunel

capture-decran-2016-11-28-a-08-12-10